Star Trek: Into Darkness Review

21 05 2013

Star Trek Into Darkness Banner 3D

Well, the signature lens flares are back for more space adventures- so beam us up Scotty, because this time we have an actual memorable villain! That’s right, this time Kirk and Friends are facing off against (MILD SPOILER) super-human classic villain Sherlock Holmes , er Khan (Benedict Cumberbatch). Cumberbatch perfectly portrayed someone who was a rogue but a leader, an almost likeable character, if he wasn’t power-hungry weapon of destruction.

 

Khan Cumberbatch

KHHHHAAAAAAAANNN!!

 

On the other side of the spectrum we have Carol (Alice Eve). I’ll be honest, I couldn’t take her seriously. When a character gets a completely (and painfully) random underwear shot about five minutes into her screen time, my first impression isn’t, “well hey look, a strong, complex female character!” It seems a lot of times directors think the best way to cover up a weak character is to take off more, if you know what I mean. To me she seemed to try too hard for such an outstandingly generic character. I don’t know if it was her delivery or the writing, but her character just was uninteresting and fell flat for me.

 

Alice Eve meme ermahgerd

This meme didn’t help either.

 

What about the other actors (as this is a very crew-centered series)? Chris Pine is becoming a rather believable Kirk, Zachary Quinto‘s Spock is good but still feels very different than the original, and I think Zoe Saldana is doing a great job with Uhura this time. Scotty, Dr. Bones, and even Sulu all had some great comedic moments. One thing I did notice about Bones (Karl Urban) is that Urban really enjoys playing the character, and he also really enjoys saying almost every line in the exact same way/tone. That wasn’t necessarily a bad thing.

 

Star-Trek-Bones

I keep telling you I’m a DOCTOR, dangit!

 

I’ll shoot straight, I have never really been a Star Trek guy, mainly because of all the sci-fi garble, sometimes incomprehensible plots, and the style of action (please, put down your pitchforks, Trekkies). Now my last reservation has been made moot by the reboot- there’s a lot of action, and it’s all freakin’ sweet. My small brain had a lot less trouble with this plot (Khan=ancient superhuman=bad) than the crazy black hole/time travel/alternate universe stuff of the first movie. However, there still was a lot of sentences that were like, “The Sciencey Sciencinator is cycled out! The radiation will trilliate our science combustors! Science!!!” Or at least that’s how I heard them.

 

Pictured: Science.

Pictured: Science.

 

What can I add? The story was interesting, the cast was (mostly) effective, and it was well-paced, keeping even my non-Trekkie interest.  The special effects were also pretty (and to be honest the lens flares were noticeably more restrained), but I didn’t get to see it in 3D, which I’ve heard is actually well-done. Maybe I’m just looking for an excuse to watch it again.

 

Star Trek Into Darkness Opening

Did these scene seem super random to anyone else? Anybody?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

